We Feel Like Paris Hilton

Ahem.

ZOMGWOTLKBETAANDBRKFTW!!

Edit: fake? really? no… why does it hurt so much

/sniff

OK, these are the links in the email:

http://www.worldofwarcraft.com/wotlkbeta

http://wowtlk-beta.awardspace.co.uk/index.html

Fakes? Cr@ppola? What’s the deal?

Explore posts in the same categories: blog

39 Comments on “We Feel Like Paris Hilton”

  1. Spoon Says:

    Oh…oh I’d hate you if you didn’t deserve it. All I can say is, I expect reports EN MASSE.

  2. Andy Says:

    Wow, Congo-rats! Enjoy the beta and make sure we get some Hunter love thrown in there.

  3. Ratshag Says:

    Wait huh? Grats to you Mr BRK, but how comes Paris Hilton gets WotLK beta? /confused

  4. Anonymous Says:

    fake?

  5. ratmaggot Says:

    Aiiii my eyes they look at you with the daggers of hate and red hot stabs . I would hate you to infernal hellworld if I could.

    But, asides, well done. Did you do anything special to get that, or do they just luuuuurve you?

  6. peter Says:

    “Worlf of Warcraft”??

    Are you sure this isn’t taking you to a keylogger-type site? Be real careful about where you’re typing in your account info.

    If it’s legit then mucho grats, and look forward to hearing about it.

  7. Webmosher Says:

    Um.. this is great and all (and uber cool for ya BRK), but Worlf of Warcraft? Are we sure this is not a phisher? Tread carefully.

  8. Toolio Says:

    Oh gawd… If BRK starts spamming my realm forums “The Most Sexy Woman” I’m gonna’ flip!

    Grats bro! I’m refreshing my inbox expecting to get an inv, too, but all I see are Nigerian Trust Fund opportunities.

  9. Anonymous Says:

    /warily eyes glaring typo

    We live vicariously through you, so let us know how it pans out!

    /slacks at work

    -Macc

  10. Morquendi Says:

    Yeah.. I’m guessing this is just the latest phishing scheme to steal your gold and account.

  11. Faileas Says:

    Oi! I guess I should use my Blizzcon beta key, then. >_<

  12. Mattias Says:

    That sounds very suspect, I would definetly double-check with Blizzard before I enter any information on that site.

    But grats if it’s real, proper hunter feedback for the beta is always nice :)

  13. Aelunis Says:

    Curse Gaming has also tagged the fake. They got an email themselves.

    Be careful BRK …

    http://wow.curse.com/articles/details/3273/

  14. platehealer Says:

    you should go to dnsstuff.com or equivalent and check ownership for the domain name or reverse ip addr lookup if no domain. wait, you use a mac on obsd, just use nslookup or dig to get that info.

  15. pelides Says:

    Bummer!

  16. Rhust Says:

    yea, I think Blizz would use a spell check…

  17. BRK Says:

    NOO!!!! NOT FAKE!!!!

    OMG Please no…

    Really?

    /sniff

  18. Thymeril Says:

    sorry BRK!

    Maybe next time! We’ll all petition blizz to give you a real invite when the proper time comes. :D

  19. Anonymous Says:

    Yep, THAT’s how Paris Hilton feels like.

    A fake :)

    Sorry BRK

  20. Pike Says:

    Sorry BRK =( But at least your account is safe!

  21. eustacius Says:

    the second link — htty://wowtlk-beta…. etc has a copyright date of 2008. Makes one suspicious. I’m feeling your pain BRK!
    – eustacius & Rak’shiri (ner’zhul)

  22. Brady Says:

    my heart bleeds for you :(

    -Cynddl & Mugu

  23. RabidPoultry Says:

    Server: wowtlk-beta.awardspace.co.uk
    IP Address: 82.197.131.52
    Organization: Belgium/Netherlands Backbone Region
    Country: Netherlands
    City, State: ,

    yikes, be careful out there everyone

  24. Brady Says:

    i’m curious if just going to the site will trigger spyware/keyloggers/etc. to automatically download.

  25. Patrick Says:

    Using Firefox with noscript, I went there. Didn’t get anything downloaded, its just a phishing form. Fill in your account name and password. Then takes you to a page to fill in name, address, phone, email, answer to your secret question, etc etc.

    Very nicely presented. Good english for a phisher. The website isn’t even Blizzard, so anyone who falls for it, well, they are born every minute.

  26. DC Says:

    Not only a fake, but you should notify Blizz so they can contact the ISP, have it taken down, try to find out who did it, have extraordinary rendition carried out on them. Fargin bastiches.

  27. Someone Says:

    Why not us all go there and do what I did? Fill in absolute cr@p for the data they ask! :) If enough people do, then they will have a huge amount of work to sort through all those and get only the “legit” ones! :)

    Of course, don’t make it “too” obvious that your data is fake! Make up real-looking data! :)

  28. peter Says:

    And shouldn’t it be “Haris Pilton?”

  29. Sev Says:

    I just got hacked this morning. and no not by this email or any phishing ones. I DL’d an addon and boom thats it lost it.. this is the 2nd time too.. they moved one of my toons to another realm.. bastards.

  30. RabidPoultry Says:

    Scan all addons with AVG or other free anti-virus!!!!

    Sorry to hear that :( , thats why I only use curse.com, they claim to check all addons posted.

  31. Someone Says:

    Sorry to read that sev, but if it’s the second time, you should have known better by now… Play it safe: don’t use add-ons that are not “self-contained”, i.e., add-ons that either come with “installers” or require the use of an external program.

    Of course, there are exceptions to this rule, but having been burnt, you should really play it safer now…

  32. Anonymous Says:

    You know, when you sit and think about it, there is one rather large and semi-obvious mistake in the entire thing.

    If Blizzard was inviting BRK into the WotLK beta… why would they send the invite to the e-mail that he has on his blogging site here? The one he most likely set up AFTER he had been playing for a while, and has, for the most part, just for e-mails from people that want his advice and all?

    Unless BRK has made that the e-mail for his WoW account, then it wouldn’t be so tricky.

  33. DC Says:

    I contacted the host and got a reply that they have a 0 tolerance policy for this sort of site and have shut it down. The URL now redirects to a sales page for them.

  34. RabidPoultry Says:

    gg

    gj dc

  35. Sev Says:

    Yeah I clear of hacks for a year now and it happened again.. What is ironic is that I posted about my first hack on my blog a week ago.. irony is mean…

  36. Richard@Home Says:

    I’m astonished you didn’t spot it as the obvious fake it is right away.

    c’mon, the dev’s are still trying to work out how Death Knights are going to work. There *is* no beta yet.

    I also spotted http://wowtlk-beta.awardspace.co.uk/index.html (I reported it to a GM, it’s since been closed down).

    Expect LOTS of these in the coming months.

    Remember kids, it it’s not an official blizzard URL (www.worldofwarcraft…) it’s a phishing site…

  37. Coyote Says:

    “Worlf of Warcraft:”

  38. timion Says:

    yeah, faker than fake. You should be ashamed.

    Better change your PW by the way, if you actually bit.


Comment: